Self-Employment TV

collage

I watch TV while I work. Specifically: I listen to TV shows I know well and love while I work. Let me explain.

Having been self-employed for the past several years, I’ve figured out what it takes to stay focused and distraction-free while I’m stowed away in my attic office, tappy-typing away at web content (or, as one of my favorite comedians/writers/podcaster Scott Aukerman would say, “slingin’ ‘tent“) for my day job as a freelance writer. My home office needs are as follows:

  1. Coffee.
  2. Water.
  3. Dirty yoga mat for when I suddenly decide I need to practice yoga, which is usually when I’m under deadline.
  4. Space heater. My house is 200 years old. I’d call it drafty, but “open air park pavilion” is probably a more accurate description. The attic office gets cold.
  5. An endless supply of TV series, movies, and podcasts, all of which I’ve watched repeatedly. In fact, they must all be shows, movies, and podcasts (or audiobooks) I’ve seen or heard numerous times, because any new TV series, movie, or audio media will take my attention away from writing. It must be well-worn. It must be well-loved. It must be something I can ignore for long periods of time.

Number 5 on the list is what brings me here today. While I’m doing research or putting together blog posts for Actual Grown-up Work (which will henceforth be known as ACGW), I find my ears drawn to whatever is playing in the background, and I often discover something I missed the first, second, third, fourth, or fifth time around. Particularly true of one of my favorite comedy series of all time, 30 Rock. Its vivacious pace, peppy and highly-underrated musical score (created by 30 Rock show creator Tina Fey’s husband, Jeff Richmond), and joke-a-second dialogue make second and third viewings of the show an absolute necessity, simply because you missed about 75% of the jokes the first time through. Trust me on this. After you watch it again, you’ll be driving your friends insane with your Jack Donaghy oneliners and your haunting renditions of “Werewolf Bar Mitzvah” at every social gathering, turning you into the pariah you’d always dreamed you be.

So, I watch a lot of things while I work, and I have a lot of things to say about them. Having grown up during that golden era known as the 1980s, I’ve consumed a ton of TV. Most of it awful, some of it great. TV shows are as comforting to me as a wubby and binkie, and running them in the background while I work on ACGW helps me to stay focused, relaxed, and highly entertained. And now it’s time for me to talk about them in exhaustive detail.

It’s also time for me to talk about my serious, if new-found, love of horror movies. Oh my god, you guys, I have so much to say about horror movies YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW.

If this sounds like your kind of bag, please join my on this adventure in Kandy’s Watchblog. It’ll be at least as fun as a Werewolf Bar Mitzvah.

Leave a Reply

